Hair trends: Dip-dye ombre

As a Circa 1985 stylist and blogger who has been growing out her medium blond hair for almost 1 year without more than a DIY trim- it was about TIME FOR A CHANGE! But what to do? Go bold with cut- like the edgy pixie haircuts sported by Anne Hathaway, Miley Cyrus, and Michelle Williams? I like a pretty low maintenance style so I opted to keep my long locks, especially since I love the boho braid trends as a summer go-to hairstyle (blog posts on that to follow)! And shoulder length hair has always seemed like the purgatory of hair for me- something you are stuck with while growing out your hair (no offense to those who look lovely with a shoulder length style, like Alexa Chung, Heidi Klum, and many others).

That left me with an impulse for COLOR! My hair has always had a “natural” ombre from my sun-bleached summer blond at the bottom and winter medium- blond at the roots. So, I decided to push it further and go for the dip-dye pastel hair color trend. I chose a pretty vibrant purple that will fade into the lovely lilac shade that I want. And I couldn’t be happier! My hair still looks fairly natural but with a subtle, surprising pop of color at the end! And it will be easy to maintain, given a little extra nourishment to the ends. Below is a photo of it straightened as I left the salon. The second photo is the 4th day after color- it shows a little more of the dark blond on top and my natural wavy texture. I think I’ll be sticking with the beach wave style more just because straightening my hair everyday would definitely kill it at this point.

image.pngFawn_Ombre_Dip_Dye_Hair

Check out some of the photos that my hairstylist and I used as reference:

7951736811850222UbO0jkoWc photoThe only bad thing is that I already feel like playing with color will be addicting! There may be some blue/ silver in my future, like these perhaps?

Long-gray-hair-trendtumblr_mgqlh2GosX1rfm5n9o1_500 tumblr_mltv92Kqvr1spn6dto1_50022181_392805660809157_1188251790_n

One response to “Hair trends: Dip-dye ombre

  1. Pingback: We say Hot Blue, but they call her Hotyella! | Eva Christine ~Traveltician

What do you think?